Mr Peacock's Possessions

Syson, Lydia

paperback/ gebrocheerd: € 11.95
ISBN: 9781471403699, January 2019, Engels
Formaat: 19.8 (h) x 12.9 (b) x 2.7 (d) cm. Gewicht: 320 gram.

Uitgever: Bonnier

beschrijving

An intimate, intense, beautifully realised novel of possession, power and loss of innocence, for fans of Mister Pip and The Poisonwood Bible.

'An intelligent, beautifully written story about a dysfunctional family in a sinister paradise' The Times

Oceania 1879. A family of settlers from New Zealand are the sole inhabitants of a remote volcanic island.

For two years they have struggled with the harsh reality of trying to make this unforgiving place a paradise they can call their own. At last, a ship appears. The six Pacific Islanders on board have travelled eight hundred miles across the ocean in search of work and new horizons. Hopes are high for all, until a vulnerable boy vanishes. In their search for the lost child, settlers and newcomers together uncover far more than they were looking for. The island's secrets force them all to question their deepest convictions.

Meer boekennieuws op Facebook.

ingezonden mededeling: